June 24



North Battleford, SK / Meadow Lake, SK– In a series of two convocations ceremonies, North West College wished the Class of 2022 well as they moved beyond the classroom. The ceremonies were the first in-person graduation events to be held since 2019. 

North West College celebrated approximately 197 graduates from 19 degree, diploma and certificate programs at the Meadow Lake Campus on June 1 and the Battlefords Campus on June 3. 

Eli Ahlquist, President & CEO said, “I joined the College team in February. Although I am new to our student body, there is no question that I share in the excitement and feel pride in the success of our graduates. Our graduates had the persistence to stay with their programs through a trying year. Today they graduate and are able to embark on their chosen path.”

During the ceremony approximately $47,000 was awarded to 29 students through completion scholarships.

These scholarships are made possible by gifts from individual and corporate donors, as well as a grant from the Saskatchewan Innovation & Opportunity Scholarships (SIOS) program, administered through the Ministry of Advanced Education. Through this program, the Saskatchewan Government matches every dollar the College receives for scholarships from local industry partners and private donors, thus doubling the resources to support even more students in our region. During the 2021-2022 academic year, North West College awarded over $115,000 in scholarships to its students.

2022 Completion Scholarship winners:

  • BUH Health Care Foundation Scholarship $500: 
    • Jessica Heidt, Continuing Care Assistant
  • Gordon Tucker Memorial Scholarship $2,500: 
    • Crystal Inkpen, Continuing Care Assistant
    • Nicole Horse, Business
  • H&R Block Scholarship $500
    • Amanda Moosomin, Youth Care Worker
    • Jashmeen Goria, Early Learning & Childcare
  • HRO Leaders Of Tomorrow Scholarship $2,500: 
    • Nicole Horse, Business
    • Shanna-Rea Archand, Business
  • Jason Vany Memorial Scholarship $1,000: 
    • Kiara Nighttraveller, Business
  • LVSchell Construction Management Outstanding Student Scholarship $2,000:
    • Raechal Bendall, Hairstylist
    • Gabriele Clark, Continuing Care Assistant
  • Pat Bacon Memorial Bursary $800: 
    • Hailey Ross, Office Administration
  • Twylia Wuttunee Memorial Scholarship $2,500: 
    • Alexa Swiftwolfe, Psychiatric Nursing
    • Amanda Moosomin, Youth Care Worker
  • Walker Wood Foundation Scholarship $2,000: 
    • Raechal Bendall, Hairstylist
    • Jillian Wilson, Hairstylist

2022 President's Achievement Scholarship $1,500 each:

  • Caisey Barker, Hairstylist
  • Justine Thunder, Business
  • Jashmeen Goria, Early Learning and Childcare
  • Sophia Kirby, Office Administration
  • Gavin Fisher, Heavy Equipment Truck & Transport Technician
  • Amanda Laliberte, Health Care Cook
  • Daphne Prete, Continuing Care Assistant
  • Sanale Andebor, Continuing Care Assistant
  • Eleanore Antoine, Continuing Care Assistant
  • Raymond Kopp, Welding
  • Caymon Beaubien, Welding
  • Alicia Ulriksen, Psychiatric Nursing
  • Wilfred Semaganis, Retail Meat Specialist
  • Adrienne Baptiste, Retail Meat Specialist

"Thank you to the scholarship donors who have graciously contributed to support our students. Their commitment helps eases the financial burden and provides encouragement for a job well done.” Says Eli Ahlquist, President & CEO.

Applications for 2022-23 programs are now being accepted – apply soon as some programs are already full. 

Any student applying for a post-secondary program before the August 1st deadline will be eligible to receive an entrance scholarship with North West College.


For Media Inquiries, please contact:

Tanya Murphy,
Coordinator, Marketing & Communications
North West College
Direct: 306-234-5188
Cell: 306-240-4049

Show more